HELP with Kenwood ddx9903s head unit static interference noise

Participant count
  • Participant list

Ed70

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hello Everybody,

So I have been having unwanted static noise (live wire type noise), along with the usual White Noise Hissing + some EMI/ very very faint engine noise type sound. Been dealing with this for almost 2 years and has gradually gotten worse during that time. It doesn’t matter which mode function I play, it does it on CD, CARPLAY, BLUETOOTH and USB. The funny thing is that on Phone Calls either via Bluetooth or Carplay its clean and I get no static or noise interference of any king. I have 2 very solid stereo shops check the entire car and have had it fully rewired, amps , ground, head unit etc. I have been using stinger rcas and wire for over 20 years without any issues and still am. Anyhow I swapped out 3 different amps (Alpine pdx-f4, Alpine x-70f, US Acoustics usx-4085 and JL Audio HD600) that are decent and clean and the problem persists. One of the installers at my current shop kept saying the problem more than likely is with my Kenwood DDX9903s head unit.
The owner didn’t think it was the issue as they checked the rcas and ground on the head unit. Finally after months of frustration the owner decided to swap out with another customer’s radio (Sony Double din) and all the freaking NOISE IS GONE!!!! We drove the car around, pushing/pulling the window switches, turning on headlights, pressing on the brake pedal and the car was dead silent, no more noise at all, it was awesome!