Help with a ported box for 4 REX 8's

Participant count
  • Participant list

db138

I've built many sealed boxes over the years, but this is my first attempt at building a ported enclosure. I have four RE Audio REX 8's, each currently running in .35ft^3 sealed after displacement. I want to put them in a ported box to see how much more output I can get. I have tried to play around with the numbers in WinISD, but I keep getting errors with the program. I would not be against using round ports instead of a slot port, as long as someone helped me with the plans. I'm aiming for 2 cubes and tuning to 32Hz - RE recommends 35, but I've read that most people tune the 8's to 32. Here are the numbers I have using the box designer on reaudio.com using 3/4" MDF:

38W x 13H x 12D

Port height: 11.5

Port width: 2.5

Port length 1: 8.75

Port length 2: 20

Total port length: 33.25

Square port diameter: 6.05

Square port area: 28.75

Port volume internal: 955.9375

Box volume: 1.985

Tuned frequency: 32

T/S of subs:

Electrical Q Value -Qes: 0.38

Mechanical Q Value -Qms: 4.21

Total Speaker Q Value -Qts: 0.34

Free Air Resonance -Fs: 22.8 Hz

Equivalent Compliance -Vas: 27.1 liters

One-Way, Linear Excursion -Xmax: 12 mm

Efficiency -SPL 1W/1m: 81.2 dB SPL

Effective Piston Area -Sd: 195 cm^2

DC Resistance -Re: 3.2 ohm

Nominal Impedance -Znom: Dual 4 ohm

Thermal Power Handling -Pe: 175 W

Force Factor -Bl: 15.4

I can fit them on the face of the box, but it is tight - round ports might be better because that would give me more room to mount the subs. They are being powered by an Alpine PDX-1.600, birth sheet says 666 watts. Thanks for any help.

I don't remember now, I was messing with it a couple days ago. It kept freezing up and I'd have to ctrl+alt+del to get out of it.

^Reading comprehension.