Help with a hfi 1000 and kicker l7

Project35

I am a newbie to car audio so please take it easy on me.

My headunit is a JVC and i have it on loud with the sub settings as mid frequency. The general eq is set with the bass at 80hz it is at 0 (flat) and is at 1.25 on some other setting which i dont know (those shouldnt effect the subwoofer though right?

So i am having an issue where the sub doesnt kick basically at all unless the bass boost is at a little past halfway.

I have the low pass around 25-30 (cant quite tell) the bass eq is at 10db subsonic is at 20 and level is at 2. Do you guys have any ideas as to why this happens?

sounds like a lack of power. be sure your sub is dual 2 ohm and wire it to 1 ohm for that amp to get the most out of it.

In my experience with Hifonics amps, I too had to crank my gain a little higher than I liked to get sufficient bass. but at any rate, make sure your sub is dual 2 and wired to 1 ohm.

Well it isnt the sub, it cam wired from the factory in a box at 2 ohms. I put in the other 500w amp and all the sudden it actually works.

I could turn the gain all the way up on the hifonics amp and nothing would change btw. I am also wondering if bad rca cables had something to do with it.

did everyone else miss the part where it's set @ mid-range?