help me pick a headunit! (SQ SQ SQ SQ)

ian.van

hello everyone! im new here and hoping you guys can give me some insight!

i have a mazda3 hatchback with a eD nine2 powering my ed9.65i components up front while running the stock HU. i since have broke my ipod interface and am just replacing the HU with an aftermarket to get more tweakability/better SQ

now keep in mind im a recording engineer so SQ and tweakability is what im looking for,

id like more then 3 eq bands, a parametric eq would be best (adjustable Q and center)

ive never used time alignment so im not really sure how much i really want, or need it, but im sure id love to play around with it.

heres the big hurdle... i have a 2 din opening.... most 2 din headunits DONT have that many options (as far as im aware) for advanced audio settings, they are mainly geared towards video/nav. but what attracts me so much to them is the fact that i can quickly browse my ipod through them (using somthing like alpines single din ipod interface is an absolute no no for me, i like changing songs fast)

so now the issue with single din... alpine 9887 for instance, has everything i would need as far as tweakability...but i CANT STAND its ipod interface. and if i do get a single din unit i NEED the ipod to stay unlocked for quick browsing.

99.9 percent of the time am playing either WAVs or lossless AACs from my ipod, almost never cds and never radio. id like to be able to hook up a external USB drive to the HU and quickly be able to browse songs on that, as well as ipod i dont want NAV since i have a top of the line garmin unit,

sorry for the long post but im rather uneducated with headunit models and am not really sure what im looking for.

what are your opinions? id like to spend as little as possible but, you get what you pay for so let me know cheapest/middle of the road/ high end options.

also i plan on adding a boston acoustics g5 powered by an audison (forget the model)

thanks so much in advance