Getting into the scene

Participant count
  • Participant list

Jsantoyo89

Banned
chicago
my passion for car audio has sparked over the last year and i feel like it is something i would enjoy doing for a living. i have done a couple of simple installations (hu,subs,tv's,speakers) but i want to increase my knowledge in this area. So here is my question which school would be best for doing this from my research i came across 3 but only 2 offer on site classes which would be Acoustic Edge Institute and Installer Institute. Or would i just be better of heading to the local Car Audi store and see if i can get an internship type deal?

yeah i looked into the same thing about 2 years ago.

all i can say is do you want your hobby to become a job? plus when i started to ask the installers what kind of cash they make.I was told it depends on how fast you are and if you get in tight with the sales man.because they are the one's getting you the work.i was also told you only get $8-$12 to install a deck and most work off commission only.then it depends on if you can sell the customer on other things also and making it the right price so they are happy and you make money.another thing to think about is well the 12 volt industry right now is not what it use to be.i remember when this forum was jumping with build logs and for sale threads galore and now you can go a week with out missing anything.

I decided not to make my hobby a job because i wanted to have fun at car shows and not think of it as WORK.BUT do what makes you happy ask the local shops if they will hire you with out schooling and go from there. goodluck