First high powered build questions

Participant count
  • Participant list

logiball
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
Whats up CA.com,

I have a buddy who wants me to put together a big boy system for him, my first big set up.

He is wanting multiple 15's, so we have narrowed it down(because of budget) to 2 or 3 quality drivers. We are looking at DC, Ascendant and SD Nightshades. Here is my question: Which would be louder: 3 DC XL 15s on 3K a piece or 2 DC LVL5 15s on 4500ish a piece? I understand that 3 15s will have more cone area then 2 15s(obviously) but I have no experience with this big boy stuff....yet.....and could use some advice.

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. Electrical will be more than sufficient and please don't flame my brands.

It's really hard to tell you. Depends on the build as a whole what car / truck are you working with ? I assume it's gonna be a wall ! Also I need to know electrical amps pretty much everything your planning on doing. Is this for competition or demos and daily ?

It's really hard to tell you. Depends on the build as a whole what car / truck are you working with ? I assume it's gonna be a wall ! Also I need to know electrical amps pretty much everything your planning on doing. Is this for competition or demos and daily ?
Yeah sorry for being vague. Daily, might termlab some music every now and again, at least 2 350A alts and 4 batts. this is all going in a mid 90s burban. We havent decided on a wall or a boxes yet, and amp(s) will probably be a dc 9k or a couple SAZ 5000s. Still very very early in the planning stages of this and just looking for a little guidance.

If this guy doesn't really know what he's doing, don't even consider running 3-4K per sub. He will break them and you'll look like an arsehole.