Do I really need an H/O alternator for 2 12" Orion hcca 2500 watt rms speakers?

JonM

Long story short: I'm running 2 Orion HCCAs 12" black coil on Orion hcca 8k amp at 2 ohms (half power) built into a custom made box for my trunk of a 99 camery. I'm running 2 XS power 3100d batteries with 4 OTT power wire and 4OTT grounded to trunk. No big three upgrade. I had a 300 amp alt put in which went up to 19 volts and blew the starter fuse about 3 minutes after I got the car back from the shop. They took it out and reinstalled the original alt. I returned the alt for another from Ohio Genarator and they said the alt was fine but put in a new regulator anyway. Tom recommended the big three upgrade and also the ground from the rear batteries should be up front with at least a 2 Ott ground wire because when grounded to the rear chassis, it's like a 4 gauge wire going up to the front when a 2 ott is needed. Do I really need this? I've been driving around for the past 2 months with no big three upgrade and a stock alt and my voltage hasn't gone below 11.9. I did the big three upgrade and in about 2-4 minutes the voltage went from 14.4 to 11.5 so I disconnected it.

My 3 questions:

Do I really need the big three upgrade and a H/O alt?

If I get the 300 amp alt re installed will my voltage stay at 14.4 with the subs at full tilt?

And do I really need a ground going from the rear up to the front?

This is a daily driver car. Thanks guys

Yes do the the big 3

The H/O alt will help so yes

An I would it can't really hurt anything

Even running your 8k at half power I would switch all your wire to 1/0 car audio wire or 2/0 welding wire, think of it like this:

Your electrical is pumping water on a pipe you have a steady flow but not a lot of water by upgrading the size of your alt & wire your electrical could pump more water faster with the same steady flow bc to me dropping to that low of voltage is not good that's under resting voltage.