Did I lay fiberglass wrong or just simply not layer enough

04silverz
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
San Antonio
Started work on my new box which will have a fiberglass bottom. Dimensions are roughly 26L x 16D. I did three layers yesterday afternoon and when it cured it seemed really flimsy.

I've glassed door pods before and tweeter pods but never a box so I have no experience doing such a large piece and am curious if I just simply need more layers or did I lay the glass wrong. From the research I did I've gathered that there is no magic number of layers as it is all install dependent for layering. But before I go and potentially waste more time and money on another package or two of fiberglass I figured I'd ask here first.

With the other stuff I've done I cut the mat into strips or squares as it required lots of shaping but with this being just a giant rectangle I just cut three big pieces and laid them on top of each other.

Box is going to be for 2 Boston SPG555 powered by Orion 2500D and the only part that is fiberglass will be the bottom. Also is going to be a sealed box.

So to sum up do I need more than three layers or was I supposed to cut into small strips?

Fiberglass is not real good at being rigid on flat planes, that's a place where you'd use MDF. Just use the fiberglass on the more rounded parts of the box. And yes, you should use more than three layers; 5-7 normally works well, but it depends on the application as well.