Dead Sony CD player

JTuck

Installed a Sony CD head unit at the weeked, and the radio works perfectly....problem is the

CD doesn't! It takes the CD in fine, seems to play it okay (ie track timer starts, can fast forward, skip etc) but no sound. Any suggestions as to possible faults....or should I just take it to a repair man?

Thanks

James

sounds like the internal amplifier is faulty. If you got it new then return it. If ya bought it used then dont bother with it(Unless you paid alot for it). They charge a fortune to do repairs on those kind of things. I buy dead equipment if ya wanna sell it. I am also a electronics repair tech. I can fix it for ya for the price of the part and 20.00 for labor.Let me know

This is still a technical question so shouldn't it be in the help area?. Isn't the headunits section for questions like "Is my friends rockford deck better than my alpine?". and stuff like that.

Thanks for the advice. Excuse my ignorance, but is the internal amp solely associated with

the CD? ie does the radio signal not go through it as well? The reason I ask is that I get radio no problem, but no cd.

Bought a few years ago, then given to my brother (working), then returned to me (not-working).

When you put the CD in though it seems to play it okay (ie track timer starts, can fast forward, skip etc) but no sound!

Here is the problem.......you bought a Sony.....sorry but it is probably the unit and not much you can do to correct the problem other than take it to get fixed at a repair shop or buy a new one. Can suggest MANY better brands to buy too if you like? LOL

Originally posted by Alaxan Here is the problem.......you bought a Sony.....sorry but it is probably the unit and not much you can do to correct the problem other than take it to get fixed at a repair shop or buy a new one. Can suggest MANY better brands to buy too if you like? LOL
I've been running the same Sony deck for 4 years now...