Complete Novice With Several Questions

Participant count
  • Participant list

Umbra

Hobbyist & CA Tenderfoot
Hello, a few days ago I picked up two 12" subs, a box, and an amp from a local guy on Facebook for $30. They've definitely been used, but I believe everything to be in working order. Apart from the challenges stemming my very limited knowledge on the subject, I've also got two additional problems. Firstly, there's no identifying information on the amp. The fuse says 20 on it, that's about it. Here's a picture:

It's a link; it's too large to display inline

The other problem is the subs are mixed. They're both 12" and fit the box, but one is a Dual XNBP12D, 8 Ohms, 550w peaks, and the other is a JBL GT 1241D. The second one confounds me. I believe it's a DVC sub, though I'm not entirely sure what it means. It has four terminals and the label says "2 or 8 ohms" and "Recommended Amplifer Power: 18w-300w".

The box fits two 12" subs and is wired for one terminal.

I really don't want to push any envelopes, I just wanted to hook up the subs in my girlfriend's '02 Elantra because even if they're weak they've got to be a hell of a lot better than stock.

I was hoping some of you nice car gurus could advise me on the best way to set this up. I know there are different ways to wire them, I'm looking for reliability over power.

Thanks

Mix-matching subwoofers is a really bad idea. You will need an amplifier, some wiring, and probably a LOC (if you don't have aftermarket head unit) to power them anyway even if you just want to hook it up as-is and call it 'better than nothing'.

Mix-matching subwoofers is a really bad idea. You will need an amplifier, some wiring, and probably a LOC (if you don't have aftermarket head unit) to power them anyway even if you just want to hook it up as-is and call it 'better than nothing'.
If they're the same impedance it shouldn't be too bad, should it?