Changing car speakers on Chevrolet Cruze

Participant count
  • Participants list

Tloz6996

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi guys. It's my first time signing up to a forum of this kind as well as having bought my first car a month ago! 

So long story short, I bought a Chevrolet Cruze 2010 and the left speaker doesn't work. It sounds muffled and the bass sounds like paper. This car only has 2 speakers. Upon googling, it seems like the size of the speakers are 6.5". Garages were charging me £40 just to LOOK at the issue and not fix it! So I'm planning on replacing it myself.

Just wanted to check with you guys since I'm planning on buying something pretty basic as a replacement like this:

Speaker 

And upon watching YouTube videos on how to open up the door, it seems pretty straight forward and easy! 

So I wanted to know from all your experiences, how easy is it to change the speakers of a car? Is that speaker compatible with my car? In terms of wiring, is it literally just a matter of plugging in wires ? Or is there was welding/soldering that would need to be done?

I do like to open things up and see how the electronics work so I am keen on doing this myself. I have built a computer so I've got a bit of electrical experience in that sense..

Swapping the speakers is pretty straight forward but be warned getting bass out of aftermarket speakers is not very easy it requires a proper install which can be costly. 

I dont advocate keeping factory systems often but if you were happy before the factory speakers went out it might be cheaper to just buy a new set of front speakers and pop them in your self. 

If you do go aftermarket you will need to buy or make a spacer adapter to space the speaker towards the door panel. Then I'd highly recommend using a foam gasket like the stinger fast rings to seal the speaker to the door. 

These doors have large openings that are hard to seal to gain the bass you lose back. Mostly because the cup holder actually insets into the door.