cap question

Mongojerry36
10+ year member

hey,

i have two type r's connected to a jl 1000/1 amp. My lights dim and im not too sure about how to do the big 3 cuz im not tech savvy at all. The installer from the place i got everything said i need a 25 fared capacitor. It was $300.

I dnt wanna buy something that im not sure is necessary.

Anyway, my question is: Do i need a capacitor? and if i do, what do you recommend?

thanks

If your installer told you to buy a 25 farad cap for $300 to fix your voltage problem stop going to him. If I was going to spend that much I would buy an HO alt.

And for $300 you could also just buy a nice Group 31 battery to go back there that would be a million times better than a cap.

ok thanks, i also looked up the caps nd i only need a 2 fared cap...but why is it unnecessary if it stores power and takes stress off of the battery and alernator...

and how would i connect a battery to my system??

it doesn't take stress away from the electrical system, it adds to it. Think of it this way: You're adding another component to your system that needs to be kept charged.

Do the Big-3 and upgrade your battery to a group 31. Check out the Deka batteries @ remybattery.com

so i can get away with the two type r's nd the jl 1000/1 amp without a cap?

i hear alot about the big three, i have no idea where to start as i know nothing about engines even if i have directions haha that may sound stupid but its true

i mean if i dnt bump them all the time i should be okay without making any mods, correct?

This what I posted a couple days in the amp section...Like I said maybe too much info.

This is what the Zeff man says...

This was taken from Zed Audio's manual.