Audioholic, you said it and I wanna know more

psycho72
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
First off....whats up Audioholic and anyone else who cares to comment....my name is Jerry and yes although I have done a few stereo installs I am a novice, newb, amateur, whatever you want to call it.

I was reading someone elses post and Audioholic, you said "If you want the loudest setup you can, you should be learning how to maximize your install, not on the net asking people which sub gets the loudest." Now from some of the stickies and this comment and I few others I get the feeling that there are a lot of one time posters who come in and ask "what's the best woofer/amp/hu/etc.".

I have to admit with my level of knowledge (not much) I would ask the same. And seeing some of the comments that I have over the last couple of days lurking I need to ask, if there is no "which is the best" then "how" can I maximize my install to acheive the best performance?

planning planning planning...just make sure you decide what your going to use your setup for first, then go from there, there are alot of recourses on here about box building, woofer placement, ect. read around, and plan your box with care...and no prefabs.

Okay then, what is the game plan. My first consideration is what? Then what? And next? You asked what I want to use it for, what does that mean exactly as in what are my choices?

I want to correct imaging as the sweet spot is currently in the dash. I want to be able to adjust my bass levels independant from the fronts. I want to be able to connect my ipod to the stereo. I want my bass to be strong without that struggling, I'm at the limit sound. I want my system to be invisable. I want to keep my trunk. I want to be able to take the system from my 95 Acura Integra that I have now and move it to the 96 Impala that I want to get. I want clean sound, no farting but I want it so the bass shakes my chest without exploding my eardrums.