Amp Installation / Old School Amp / Cheater Amp Help?

IloveTheBass

LA,CA
Hi everyone well,

I have a Lanzar optidrive plus 100 pwm mosfet

As ive been told its an old school amp.

It was my dads and i have no idea on what I can do this baby.

What do i need to connect this amp to his sub as all this was my dads.

I have no idea what wire guage I need and how much power I can get out of it.

I am new to this forum so if i posted this in the wrong section please let me know.

Ive also been told this amp was a cheater amp too.

Well basically i want to know how to connect this as i do not know how to. and dont know anything like bridging and so forth as Ive said i am new to this stuff.

I can use all the help i can get.

Thank You

Pics? I know there's guys here who used Lanzar of that era that will remember exactly what is what. I've personally only used the later Zed Audio Lanzars.... I was using Orion back when those were current.

Anyway the main thing I can say about those amps is that they'll get HOT. I mean really hot really fast, especially compared to today's class D. Make sure you keep plenty of space around it for airflow and still be prepared to have it go into thermal protect frequently if you like long drives.

Also worth mentioning, electrolytic capacitors do fail over time. We're talking about a 20 year old amp here so if it blows it's possibly just old components and not you being a douchebag.

For a short run, 10 gauge would be fine for that amplifier as it is only rated to produce 200 watts RMS @ 4 ohms bridged. If you are running the wire from from front to trunk, I'd recommend 8 gauge wire or possibly a 4 gauge kit if you are planning on running additional amplifiers. As for it being a cheater amp, I think they were only 30% underrated, so it's not like you are looking to get 1,000 watts RMS out of a 100 watt amplifier. Then again, the amplifier I am thinking about is the Opti Drive 100 as I can't recall a plus model from memory.