Aeroports or slots?

N9ne Millahhh
10+ year member

I have two RE Audio SE-x10D2s and i was wanting to try aeroports because I've heard great things about them, but i have no experience with them at all, nor do i know how to tune the box with the aeros, or even design a box with them, so should i stick with slot ports or go for the aeros? i love the looks of aeros compared to slots, and i think they sound better. and i am looking for 30Hz. if you think aeros, could you help me make a design?

i'll post up some designs as i think of them.

Last edited by a moderator:
View attachment 26539488View attachment 26539489View attachment 26539490View attachment 26539492View attachment 26539491

The separate chamber box is [1.3cu ft with a 2" aero, flared, at 6.76" long] = each chamber, supposedly tuned to 30Hz like desired, using psp-inc's port calculator on their site.

Second Box is a single chamber, obviously, with 3.01cu. ft with two 3" aeros that are 12.85" long and also flared. This one is also tuned to 30Hz, according to PSP.

Are these accurate, and would they be what i'm looking for (i'd prefer the separate, unless the single chamber would be louder)? Remember, first time aero box designer here..

This is the problem with aeros in smaller boxes. You either need one that's too long or too small in diameter. You realize that a 2" aero is only 3 square inches of port, right? That's not nearly enough for a car audio sub. And a 3" is pushing it. I've used a single 3" in 1.5 and it had pretty f'n bad port noise. It was in the trunk so it didn't bother me much, but it's choking it.

Either make the box bigger so you can use a pair of 4's or a single 6" or do a slot.