Adjusting Input Voltage Confusion *SS Rubicon 1.2500*

Jstevens0716
10+ year member

Ny
lol Hey Guys,

I know my title sounds very noob'ish, but i do have a couple questions for ya guys. I recently purchased a Soundstream Rubicon 1.2500 Amplifier, and iv had some difficulties getting this amp adjusted. I set amplifier input voltage, but i was getting very little output from subwoofers. I am getting significantly better output now, but with bass boost at 10dB (0-18dB) . I have ran this amplifier flawlessly in the past, but the amplifier had been tuned by a shop. I am new to the audio world and this is my first attempt at tuning my amplifier myself, so all input and opinions are greatly appreciated.

Im trying to set my input voltage, I have my LPF/HPF on the HU set to flat,and Gain, Subsonic, LPF, and bass boost all turned down on the amplifier, with the speaker wires disconnected,and DMM probes in terminals. I have a 40hz tone burnt to cd, on repeat in HU, Volume 75%.

Questions: When setting input voltage, Do i disconnect Bass Knob from Amplifier, or do i leave it connected and just turn it all the way down? (Gain=0, When i disconnect bassknob from amp, DMM reads 2.3v, with bass knob connected but all the way down DMM reads 16.3v)

Once Input Voltage is set, Does adjusting bass boost change input voltage?

Headunit- Alpine CDA-9830

Amplifier- Soundstream Rubicon 1.2500

Subwoofers- (2) American Bass XFL 1244, Ported Enclosure

XS Power D925, Big 3, 0 gauge Runs.

Last edited by a moderator:
The knob is a remote gain. Plug it in and turn it all the way up, then set your gains on the amp. Make sure the remote gain is at max so when you set your gains on your amp you are not clipping or going higher than what you want. There is also a swtich on the amp to match the output fro the HU. I believe its 0-3v and 3-5v or something similar. If your preouts are 3v then set it to the that range, if they are 5v then set it to the other.