4 inch coils?

there are disadvantages such as you need a 9 or 10" spiders because 8" wont allow enough excursion.

some builders will tell you a 3" is the perfect size. personally i have no experience with 4" coils but with todays 3" coils you can throw 10k+ burps and not damage it a bit.

look @ the big sub brands out there today most of the loudest use 3" coils.

there are disadvantages such as you need a 9 or 10" spiders because 8" wont allow enough excursion.
some builders will tell you a 3" is the perfect size. personally i have no experience with 4" coils but with todays 3" coils you can throw 10k+ burps and not damage it a bit.

look @ the big sub brands out there today most of the loudest use 3" coils.
excursion doesn't mean loud. i don't understand that. it seems like the sub moving the most air with the most cone area should be the loudest. but the subs that have alot of excursion are mostly sq

^ spl sub BL means more than excursion. my spl sub i am still throwing about 2.250" total excursion....
what is your sub? i love crazy excursion. they usually are louder lower. to me to the ear at least. imo

excursion doesn't mean loud. i don't understand that. it seems like the sub moving the most air with the most cone area should be the loudest. but the subs that have alot of excursion are mostly sq
You are correct, more excurion does mean louder, the confusing issue is when ports or horn comes into play, but the same principal applies. If we compared a sealed sub to a port, the port might make a lot more SPL but the driver might move a lot less, well its not the driver that's generating the SPL in the ported box, its the driver that is pushing a port at resonance to make the SPL, so we are really comparing the active driver in a sealed box to the port in a ported box and the port will provide more displacement and a lot more excursion. Ports can often move 10" peak to peak and you can do a direct comparison to a driver at that point.