Who's John Wheeler?

Participant count
  • Participant list

matt scarlett
10+ year member

UK
I don't mean to be disrespectful of anyone but I found this thread, and those commenting didn't have much time for 'wheeler'

http://www.caraudio.com/forums/enclosure-design-construction-help/237401-new-flaired-port-design-3-5cubues%4035hz.html

Now from a total newbie POV (not even built my first car sub box but i've built a few home audio speaker back in the day) it wasn't the worst box i'd seen, or am i wrong?

I here something about dipping wood in a pool. Now considering that I've never even kerfed before or even built a sub for my car before, every timber merchant i've spoken to have suggested 'steaming' the wood then bending it. Am i wrong to take their advice then?

For me its' not about knowing what's the right advice, but sifting out all the bull, but I'm not here to teach people how to **** eggs, not even this 'Wheeler' person (just trying to humble myself in front of people who are where i want to be)!

Advie and help needed

I'm been trying to do my homework on box building and to be quite honest I read a lot of conflicting views and i'm still a bit lost, so I guess it'll be a steep learning curve.

One of the best looking boxes I've seen in terms of 'the design and thinking behind the enclosure' is Thumper (again no disrespect to other box builders). I know of PWK, via youtube and i've come across the likes of 'team toxic bass' and 'Ram Designs'. Whose advice should I listen to?

Thing is where I am (UK), there's not much happening in terms of limitations of brands available It's all Vibe, Fli, Edge, Poineer (if you're lucky) and the like.You say the name Morel, JL Audio, Focal, Digital Designs, Diamond Audio, CDT etc where i live, and you'll get an open mouth and a blank stare. I want people to experience better/differnet brands than your average teenage Halfords shopper would experience ... hence i want to get into box building .. for my part.