When to upgrade your alternator and or battery?

Participant count
  • Participant list
Hey guys, I'm no expert in Car audio but I have done a few setups. I recently bought a "big" setup, I'm sure it's pretty small compared to what most people run but I'm just wondering if I'll run into alt & battery issues...

I have a 2007 civic Ex, the stock alternator puts out 90 amps. The battery is bran new (although it's not a yellow top or anything bought the battery before I decided to do the sound system)

Regardless I'll be doing the big three upgrade but I'm actually pretty concerned if I may have gone a little too big.

What i'm running:

Headunit: Pioneer UAE - Car Entertainment, Home Audio & Video, Headphones, DJ Products

Speakers: Car Audio & Video | Visions Electronics

Speaker Amp: Car Audio & Video | Visions Electronics

Subs: Car Audio & Video | Visions Electronics

Sub amp: Car Audio & Video | Visions Electronics

don't judge me on my sub woofer choice, I know it's the dark side.

TL/DR version of specs

Headunit: not sure the draw

Speakers: 75w rms x 4

Subs: 400 rms x 2

Amp 1 70w rms x 4

Amp 2 1000 rms (note I won't be running this full because it's overkill for my subs)

Do you guys think i'm screwed in terms of draw? I really appreciate the insight guys

1000 watts for sub I would do at least the big 3 first before spending $ on a alt or batt.

An aftermarket alt is ideal but be prepared to break out the checkbook as prices on them have gone up. Expect to pay anywhere between 300-700. Unless you can find a used one, which is possible, you might save yourself some $$.

Typically alt 1st then battery. I say battery 1st because a lot of us are on a budget.

the fastest way to check if your draw will match what you have is this simple math trick.

100 watts of stereo power = 10 amps.

your alternator makes ___ amps and add the amp hour rating of your battery s to that = your avalable amps to use. x10 = watts avalable.