What to do with unused wire?

Participant count
  • Participant list

Kd_Frazier

NC
I ordered this head unit and it should be in the mail by tomorrow

http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-MVHX560BT-Digital-Media-Receiver/dp/B00GS80OQ8

I've watched installation videos about install head units and speakers. I plan on using butt connectors until I can see if I can get up with my grandpa and get a hold of his soldering tool. As far as I know I won't be using two wires. The sub wire? and the amp wire? I'm getting a sub and an amp later down the road when I save up. What do I do with the wires for now? And just in case will 14-18 gauge butt connectors be good enough? That's what a friend told me. I'm new to this so no h8 pls.

You could crimp butt connectors on them then wrap the ends in tape. As long as they're insulated and not able to short out on anything it should be fine.

Basically what Mitch suggested. If the HU is new usually the wires are precut, but the insulation is left on them to cap the end.

79pinfwdannotated.jpg

If there flag labels on the wires they usually loop the wire back around and tuck them into these.

Personally, I cut them flush and put a dot of hot glue on the end to keep them from protruding out and making unwanted connections.

Basically you want everything secure so no wires touch any other connections they're not supposed to or anything else metal, creating a short.