Truck wont start?

branham1127
10+ year member

Matt Branham
Colorado
Wondering if anyone might be able to give me a little advice, as I am no mechanic. Yesterday I swapped my 220 amp alternator out for a 300 amp and added two D3100s to the two I already had (for a total of four plus a D2400 under the hood). I tested out the new setup in the driveway and it did fine for 15 minutes so I went on a test drive. The first 5 minutes of the drive it did just fine, but then it started to go downhill.

Every time I came to a stop light the voltage dropped significantly and the truck would try to die, so I began to two foot drive so I could keep the RPM's up and it wouldn't die. I got home and figured maybe it was the alternator since my truck had been fine before this. The truck tried to die as I got in the driveway so I reved it up and turned it off when the voltage hit 14ish. I put the 220 amp back in and now the truck wont start.. It wont even try to crank. The front battery is reading 13.9 volts and my battery bank reads 13.9 as well. Any ideas? Truck is a 2003 Silverado with a 5.3l...

Also everything electric still turns on, but the dash lights are very dimmed and sometimes get brighter... W.e you call the dash part that tells me if something is wrong with my truck (also tells me my mileage and what not) it says reduced engine power when key is turned to acc but it still wont start.

sounds like you are frying the voltage regulator. where did you get that alternator? list spec of equpi and parts had and swapped. Also did you upgrade to the 0/gauge power wire to your amps. and how did you wire up the batteries???

sounds like you are frying the voltage regulator. where did you get that alternator? list spec of equpi and parts had and swapped. Also did you upgrade to the 0/gauge power wire to your amps. and how did you wire up the batteries???