Thoughts on shallow mount subs in ported or 4th order enclosure.

Participant count
  • Participants list

tng83

CarAudio.com Newbie
I work in the car business and occasionally come across trade ins with speakers the customer doesn't want so I get to keep em and use em. I just sold the last set of Skar 10s I had been using in an enclosure I built and today was given a set of RF R2 12s and I already have a Rockford Prime 500 amp that will work perfect for them. I'm not intrested in building a sealed enclosure. Id rather not use them at all. Anyone ever have or see shallow mount subs in a ported enclosure or in a 4th order? What do you think?

I’ve done shallows in sealed and ported enclosures, but never in a 4th order. The reason for using a shallow mount sub in the first place is normally because space is an issue, and a 4th order box is usually not the ideal enclosure choice for small spaces.

I’ve done shallows in sealed and ported enclosures, but never in a 4th order. The reason for using a shallow mount sub in the first place is normally because space is an issue, and a 4th order box is usually not the ideal enclosure choice for small spaces.

Yea i just wonder if 1.5 sealed and 2.5ish ported would bring em to life. Just messign around with em til I sell the package and replace it with whatever else I wind up with but Ive never worked with shallows and have never seen anyone go bandpass with em.

Yea i just wonder if 1.5 sealed and 2.5ish ported would bring em to life. Just messign around with em til I sell the package and replace it with whatever else I wind up with but Ive never worked with shallows and have never seen anyone go bandpass with em.
Buck just designed a box a few weeks back for another guy on here for a JL shallow mount. I’ve seen it done, but never have myself.

If the sub doesn't recommend ported, you're taking a little bit of a gamble putting it in a ported section, even though it's still in a sealed section as well.