Thinking about upgrading my low end system... suggestions?

562runner

Hello all,

I'm a rookie at this car audio stuff, but here we go. At the moment, I have a 2005 4Runner with 2 Rockford Fosgate 12" P2's Pushing 200W RMS each with an MTX Audio amp pushing 420W. Speakers are stock, and my head unit is an Alpine CDA 9830.

I want to upgrade them to either 1 or 2 JL Audio 12" W6v2's. If it helps, I listen to Hip-Hop, Rap and Electro/House music in the car. I play it loud when I'm on my own, and not so loud when I have others in my truck. I'm not looking to show off or anything, I just want something for me to enjoy. Is 1 enough? Is 2 overkill?

If I end up getting one sub, I would want a JL 500/1 or if I got 2, a JL 1000/1, but the prices are ridiculous. Any suggestions? Are those subs even good fits?

Is it better to buy the subs used, like craigslist, or brand new in-store?

I recently changed my car battery to an Optima Yellow Top (D35) after 6 years, if that helps.

in b4 hazegrey

that Optima is a nice start for your electrical, since you listen to hip hop, SQ isn't your primary concern so there are plenty of options regarding sub and amp selections. How much money are you looking to spend?