Switching to lithium Need advice

Participant count
  • Participant list

just call me KeV
10+ year member

I would like to switch the Focus to lithium but I need a "everything you wanted to know about LTO but were afraid to ask." book or something.. The total wattage I want to run is going to be under 10k. I have two 1/0 runs in the car. I'm not sure why I mention that seeing if I wanted to actually run 10k watts I would need a another run right?
Can I do a direct swap of the batteries? I've heard that some lithium batteries aren't safe under the hood? Need the info. I'll admit I kind of need/want some "hand holding" towards the information since even though I am an engineer at work(Aerospace) I feel kind of clueless when it comes to lithium and supercaps. I understand the basic principals of course but as it pertains to car audio I could use an update.
PS: I know I have the tendency to overthink ****. that's just how my mind works.

That is another question I was going to ask. I was going to buy one from dc power (370 amp) but do you guys have any recomendations that way. Singer, Mechman...etc?

I have ran DC power and Autotech. My DC is like 10 years old and still kicking on my old 2010 focus. I have only had my autotech for like 6 months but am very happy for how cheap it was.

My autotech is running a diode to bump charge voltage up to 15.8 for my Yinlong LTO lithium.

I have ran DC power and Autotech. My DC is like 10 years old and still kicking on my old 2010 focus. I have only had my autotech for like 6 months but am very happy for how cheap it was.

My autotech is running a diode to bump charge voltage up to 15.8 for my Yinlong LTO lithium.
The autotech is super reasonable. The DC power was nearly a thousand dollars and I can get a custom paint job. Sweeet.