subwoofer isn't hitting with the music, instead it just kind of pulses weird

atown
10+ year member

I just installed a sub/amp in a 99 pontiac grandam, but it won't hit to the music, as I adjust the gain and freq on the amp it eventually just starts pulsing or vibrating.

At first I thought it might be the remote wire, so we ran a new one, but it's having the same problem.

Amp: MTX Blue Thunder 300x2

Sub: JL w0 8ohm

I also tried hooking up a JL w3v2 4ohm to it, and (unless I didn't turn the amp up enough to see it) it didn't vibrate at all.

Not that it's important, but may I inquire as to the deck you are running in your dash? I'll assume not the factory one. Your problem sounds odd. I'm not an expert, and I don't doubt someone with a bit more knowledge will know the answer. But my opinion: I would try a different amp and see if it solves the problem. If so, you know your MTX is at fault. If not, I would next wonder if you are running RCA's or Line Level outputs from your deck to the MTX. Is the deck new? In general, if I were to experience your problem and I already checked another sub, I would check another amp, then see if my deck's outputs were fried or something.

I'm curious about your problem. Please keep me updated on what you find out.

Sounds like your RCA cables are grounded out at some point. You can test the amp with an iPod and a 3.5mm mini jack to RCA cable like the one pictured below. You should be able to get one at Radio Shack for a few bucks.

1085_small.jpg

If your subs work fine with the iPod, then you have a problem with your RCA cables or your head unit. If you are using a line out converter (LOC), it may be to blame as well.