Subwoofer install not playing frequencies lower than 40hz? Potential causes?

bestgio

Hello there,

I drive the 2012 Audi A4 and it's the non b&o model with no navigation/ami. It just says Audi concert on top of my CD tray(factory radio).

I have a single 12 inch JL audio sub (12W1v3-2), 300 watts rms installed in my trunk and it's about 5 weeks old so far. It's in a ported box and connected to the Rockford fosgate p400x1 amp with the audiocontrol lc2i installed as well. I'll admit I'm a car audio noob as this stuff is still very new to me. We checked to make sure the box and sub have matching specs which it did and a friend of mines was able to install the subwoofer for me and everything works great so far. However on paper it says the sub could hit as low as 22hz, but that doesn't seem the case when I'm playing tones ~40hz or lower, the sub is basically non existent.(especially after testing the classic "put on" from young Jeezy song to really test how low the subwoofer can go). I can feel the vibration from the sub starting around 40hz and above however after playing those frequency test ranges.

What could be the cause of this? I have quite a few songs that can hit pretty low frequencies in other cars but this sub seems to have problems reproducing that. Is it the amp settings needs to be looked at again? Specifically the lc2i?? I set my amp to use the low pass filter on 80hz, and the lc2i is around the middle for the accubass. Or is it the head unit that's filtering out these low low notes?(factory radio)? If that's the actual cause, that'll be a tough situation because the factory radio has a specific design that goes along with the car. Any aftermarket would make it look awkward imo. I'm pretty sure this sub is more than capable of playing the low lows but that doesn't seem to be the case. Or is there something additional I would need to install to have this additional sub perform what it's capable of?