Sub reccomendation for a box I already have

Participant count
  • Participant list

Robb Adams

I have a box I bought from a friend, he had a really cheap sub in it and I would like to relace the sub. It is a bandpass enclosure, with 2 ports, the sub is 12" and the front has a volume of .85 cu ft, and the rear has a volume of .91 cu ft. I will only be running about 100 watts RMS to the sub, so I am not looking for a super powerfull sub, something more musical, I mostly listen to rock music, but do listen to other stuff as well. Please forgive my ignorance, I am totally new to this stuff.

Robb Adams

217468_121_full.jpg

Jmac bandpass boxes are not the worse boxes available. they work well in certain ranges, but you cant really crank it up with bandpasses. if they ****** so bad, i doubt that so many companies would keep them on the market...they have to be good in some aspect. they do not provide the worse SQ, but they dont provide good SPL. the SQ is pretty good at some ranges, just not others.

thanks for all the info folks, I guess I have alot to learn:confused: So, for the type of music I like, (rock, Alternative, Etc) I should go with a different type of enclosure? I am really interested in that Kick from real drums. not really that low rumbly bass I hear from the kids cars drvin down the street. Not really interested in impressing the guy in the car beside me I just want things to sound good to the broad beside me:D . I dont know if it matters, but the sub is going to be in the trunk, I always seem to have some $hit in there, so the smaller amount of room the sub takes up the better.

217468_121_full.jpg

Well, I didn't really have a budget in mind as I don't know really what I am getting into. I do know that I probably could build a sealed box on my own, if I had some sort of a blueprint. I have alot of woodworking tools at home (Table saw, joiner, plainer, jigsaw Router etc)