Stereo Integrity Magnum D2 (Sealed)

Participant count
  • Participant list

Raven
10+ year member

Lacking social skills!
Michigan
DISCLAIMER:

I am not a professional installer. I'm not a professional box designer, or box maker, or guru with amp settings. I'm not much more, if any more, than an average installer. So bear in mind, the notorious SI Mag D2 is not getting any royal treatment today. Just two sealed enclosures of different designs.

THE (RELEVANT) EQUIPMENT:

Alpine CDA 9807

SI Mag D2 15"

Orion 1200D

1992 Ford Taurus sedan

THE WOOFER (COSMETICS):

The Mag D2 is the pinnacle of two years of R&D by Stereo Integrity. Blah blah blah blah... It's big! Huge! The 15" version weighs in at nearly 40 pounds. I can feel it as I lift it by the basket and carry it around. I have to tuck it in my arm and carry it like a child to ferry it from place to place. It looks like it uses a standard overhung motor design, I can see the copper coil around the fomer through venting holes in the basket. It's a very solid look. The suspension feels very smooth and even when the cone is pushed down. My only quirk is the chrome. I was never a fan of chrome.

THE INSTALL (PART 1):

The first install comes from a design BASED ON BUT NOT TRUE TO the "Inverted Wedge" design by Decware: http://www.decware.com/newsite/invertedwedge.htm available for $10. In my design, I extended one half of the enclosure to 32" while preserving the angle of the wedge itself. I also raised the bottom plank to a start of 2" off the ground and ending 6" off the ground to allow for the xmax limits. The enclosure itself was roughly 3 cubic feet internally. The back wall nearest to the baffle (Green wall in diagram) was double thick. Bracing in the box was limited . (IMPORTANT DETAIL RIGHT THERE) See the attachment for the design I used. Read the next part to decide if you want to try it.

LISTENING (PART 1):