Sony xm 1652z

Participant count
  • Participant list

Forgot my name

Im lost i think
I have 2 of theese and 4 4ohm 12's" svc the specs do not show wiring bridged 2ohm setup which is how i have configured mine . My question is is it worth it (pwr output) setup like this or is it better to wire subs in series to get 4 ohm bridged or put 1 sub o

Basically I had someone tell me that if amp isnt rated at 2 Ω then running subs at 2 ohm wouldn't give out a higher output and would possibly lower the output versus most amps somewhat doubling watts as impedance doubles. It sounded like bullship to me but I'm not an expert

The amp is 400w rms at 4 ohms bridged.
That is its minimum stable impedance and 400w is its maximum power cabability.

Why would you expect it to double in power again just because the impedance is reduced? it doesn't even double from 4 to 2 -- not even close to it actually.

What will happen below 4 ohms mono is it will get super hot and produce little if any power beyond 400. Hopefully it will go into thermal and/or overcurrent protection before it melts down.

Bridge the amps with the subs wired in series for 8. Everything will run w/o stress and it will sound fine.

The amp is 400w rms at 4 ohms bridged.
That is its minimum stable impedance and 400w is its maximum power cabability.

Why would you expect it to double in power again just because the impedance is reduced? it doesn't even double from 4 to 2 -- not even close to it actually.

What will happen below 4 ohms mono is it will get super hot and produce little if any power beyond 400. Hopefully it will go into thermal and/or overcurrent protection before it melts down.

Bridge the amps with the subs wired in series for 8. Everything will run w/o stress and it will sound fine.