Sony cdx-5460 Intermittent AM audio

Participant count
  • Participant list

warriorjoe

I have an old sony cdx-5460, THE car radio of the '80's, in my old 1979 mercedes 450SL. There is a companion 40W dual speaker amp with speakers under the rear seat shelf.

All devices and features work on the unit except on AM. The AM will play good for about a 1-2 second burst them drops to low volume hiss. Flip back to FM, plays good continuosly. Then flip to AM, hear initial 1-2 second burst of good audio, then nothing (except low volume hiss.) This action can be repeated indefinitely. I not only like listening to FM, but am also an AM talk-radio junkie, which is why I am missing that AM!!

Now, I am not a newbie at electronics repair. I am a retired electrical/electronics/computer and broadcast engineer with extensive experience designing and repairing all types of consumer and industrial electronics including computers, TV's and radios. I know how to use a scope and audio test equipment. I say that not to toot my horn but to provide that backdrop to lead into a technical discussion that is probably a cut above the average forum question. If no one can answer it, I will understand. But hopefully someone else with similar background and/or experience will be able to help me. So here goes...

I have a Sony service manual with schematics and component layout and parts lists for all the main components. However there is not a seperate schematic or parts list for the tuner unit, which I think is where the problem is.

I can insert a 1000 hz audio signal into the first audio stage chip, and get a good tone output through both channels. So I know all the audio circuits are OK, and as I said earlier everything works fine in FM mode.