Somebody school me on playing music thru iPhone

Staynlean
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
I have a Kenwood ddx370 unit that has a usb that i thought i would just plug the iphone into and play the music from my library thru the hu. Well, seems that's not the case. It displays the image on the hu but no music. It only plays the music thru the phone still.

Called a local stereo shop and they said i need some proprietary usb wiring cable and that it gets wired into the back of the deck, is this the case?

Somebody link me to what i need and i cant imagine it is that hard to install. I've done everything else from front to back of car.

Would rep if we had a rep system, whoever helps me out i owe you for life. Had no ides i could not just plug and play with the existing usb. Anyway..

Iphone5 btw...

Really nobody? I know this may be a dumb question but come on man. I'm fairly new to some of this, especially the iphone and dd head units.

If it's a newer ipod then... *If you have an iPod nano (7th gen), iPod touch (5th gen), iPhone 5, iPad 4, or iPad mini; use the Lighting-to-USB cable that came with your Apple device to connect to the head unit. These Apple devices only support audio playback (no video output). Guess you can't use a cheap cable if that's what you're doing.

^ yea, i was gunna suggest try a different cable\the one that apple provided...

also, does anything work through usb? you try a thumb drive with mp3s on it?

I have not tried to a thumb drive through the usb to see if anything else works. The usb cord i am using is the one from Apple, not a knock off.

*Edit, i tried my old school iPod, it's like 6 years old... It does the same exact thing as the Iphone5.

It seems to me there is a setting somewhere that needs to be adjusted, like flipping a switch. any who, anymore suggestions from you guys would be appreciated.

If i transfer music to the usb, it will play just fine. Working on this update now, reading the instructions has my mind blown. Wtf?