Small short then nothing.


Jprince911

CarAudio.com Newbie
May 23, 2020
8
0
North Carolina
Good evening all, I will try to make this as understandable as possible.

I have a small system in my work truck, Sony audio head unit, kicker 500 watt amp and two 10” subs.

everything was working fine until I started cleaning my truck out and accidentally shorted the amp, literally saw a small short which has happened before and requires a fuse change. However this time there are no blown fuses, in the panel or under the hood

I do have 12 volts to the amp but the remote wire has no signal at all, I have a good ground and good connections.

The head unit is not turning on either so I am a bit confused. Everything was working prior to this short now nothing is, any insight would be greatly appreciated.
 

1aespinoza

Junior Member
May 22, 2013
392
115
Pharr, Texas
Did you check the fuse on the back of the radio? The remote wire is powered by the radio. You can use a piece of wire from the positive on the amp to the remote to turn it on. First disconnect the blue wire. That will at least let you know if amp is ok.
 
OP
J

Jprince911

CarAudio.com Newbie
May 23, 2020
8
0
North Carolina
Did you check the fuse on the back of the radio? The remote wire is powered by the radio. You can use a piece of wire from the positive on the amp to the remote to turn it on. First disconnect the blue wire. That will at least let you know if amp is ok.
Thanks for your reply! I did check the fuse on the back of the radio and it is not blown, I’ll try what you mentioned momentarily and let you know.
 

Lasherž

CarAudio.com Veteran
Apr 27, 2020
551
109
United States
Thanks for your reply! I did check the fuse on the back of the radio and it is not blown, I’ll try what you mentioned momentarily and let you know.
There's also a fuse on the car itself that powers your head unit. It's possible that's blown as well if the head unit no longer turns on. You can test this by checking voltage between the chassis and the yellow batt+ wire. If it's 12v then check the ignition wire with the key in the on position. If either aren't reading voltage then most likely you've got at least 1 fuse blown in one of your fuse boxes. If both are then you may have a dead head unit or that fuse on the back that 1aespinoza mentioned needs another inspection.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jprince911
OP
J

Jprince911

CarAudio.com Newbie
May 23, 2020
8
0
North Carolina
unfortunately I checked all the fuses and none are blown.

in the fuse panel, under the hood, behind audio player, there is no external fuse on the amp. All fuses are good.
 

Lasherž

CarAudio.com Veteran
Apr 27, 2020
551
109
United States
unfortunately I checked all the fuses and none are blown.

in the fuse panel, under the hood, behind audio player, there is no external fuse on the amp. All fuses are good.
From what it sounds like you may have damaged the head unit. The test he recommended will at least tell you whether your amp is okay, but as for the head unit it doesn't look good if there are no blown fuses. I'd check all the wiring, make sure the voltages are there that should be and try pressing the ground cable into the chassis, sometimes when grounds look secure they're not. 12v DC can be very hard to ground properly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jprince911
OP
J

Jprince911

CarAudio.com Newbie
May 23, 2020
8
0
North Carolina
From what it sounds like you may have damaged the head unit. The test he recommended will at least tell you whether your amp is okay, but as for the head unit it doesn't look good if there are no blown fuses. I'd check all the wiring, make sure the voltages are there that should be and try pressing the ground cable into the chassis, sometimes when grounds look secure they're not. 12v DC can be very hard to ground properly.
when I check the voltages at the pig tail it’s only giving me mili volts, no true 12v, I will check the ground again. Thank you for your help!!!
 
OP
J

Jprince911

CarAudio.com Newbie
May 23, 2020
8
0
North Carolina
Amp is good I checked by running a wire from my power to my remote and the lights came on so I know the amp is good.

I double checked the fuse in the player and it is in good shape.

I literally sanded the paint down in a spot to get a good ground and still no head unit power.
 
OP
J

Jprince911

CarAudio.com Newbie
May 23, 2020
8
0
North Carolina
Amp is good I checked by running a wire from my power to my remote and the lights came on so I know the amp is good.

I double checked the fuse in the player and it is in good shape.

I literally sanded the paint down in a spot to get a good ground and still no head unit power.
 

1aespinoza

Junior Member
May 22, 2013
392
115
Pharr, Texas
When you checked all the fuses, did you pull them out? I have had good fuses stop sending power, pull them and reinsert several times and all is right as rain. When you said pigtail was mV, was it power or memory?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lasherž

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.


Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)



Trending topics

Latest classifieds