Orion Remote Gain Controller Problem


metalheadjoe

Registered User
10+ year member
Oct 21, 2007
407
222
ND
Amp is an Orion HCCA 5k. The adjusting potentiometer in the remote gain controller became desoldered from the circuit board. How should I proceed? Is there an aftermarket product that will plug into my amp and provide the same function? Should I resolder the pot to the board myself? Any chance Orion will cover it? I think I bought the amp from amazon; can amazon sellers be authorized dealers / how do I find out if the one I purchased through was authorized?

Biggest question is what remote gain controls will work with my amp, since the original one is engineered garbage.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bobbytwonames

1aespinoza

Junior Member
May 22, 2013
957
249
Pharr, Texas
Biggest question is what remote gain controls will work with my amp, since the original one is engineered garbage
I use this one with old HCCA 275g4. Works great. I would opt to solder the loose input, but by doing so, you may lose any kind of warranty in case something worse happens. Plus you say the oem knob is crappy, so an RCA gain knob is your best bet.
http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?icep_ff3=2&toolid=10001&campid=5335951755&icep_item=192110887018
 

Buck

[email protected]
Pro Seller
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
May 19, 2008
22,868
853
FL
What does the connector cable look like? Some bass knobs I think are the same and have the same bass knobs. If you can't fix it, maybe there's a direct replacement. You could run something inline on the RCA's.
 

metalheadjoe

Registered User
10+ year member
Oct 21, 2007
407
222
ND
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #4
@1aespinoza @Buck
I shouldn't have said the original is garbage. I'm just irritated that the solder joints broke after about six months.

I don't want to go inline with rca's because I really like having a clip indicator on the controller. The connector looks like a phone jack.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bobbytwonames

Buck

[email protected]
Pro Seller
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
May 19, 2008
22,868
853
FL
@1aespinoza @Buck
I shouldn't have said the original is garbage. I'm just irritated that the solder joints broke after about six months.

I don't want to go inline with rca's because I really like having a clip indicator on the controller. The connector looks like a phone jack.
See my ED 9.1's bass knob looked like a phone jack too. I'm not sure if any phone jack one would work or not.
 

Kickstand

CarAudio.com Well Known
Jan 1, 2021
449
119
Maple Ridge
All the pins would have to line up if its a phone jack style
If your decent with a soldering iron then it shouldn't be that hard to solder it back down
Just as long as it didn't take any of the board with it when it came off
 

metalheadjoe

Registered User
10+ year member
Oct 21, 2007
407
222
ND
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #9
I just resoldered the pot. I thought it would be more difficult than it was given the proximity of pins. Still, resoldering shouldn't be the go-to answer for an item that I've owned less than six months. I tried calling Orion, and no one answered.

Thanks @1aespinoza and @Buck for your tips.

I haven't tested it yet, but I will soon.
 

metalheadjoe

Registered User
10+ year member
Oct 21, 2007
407
222
ND
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #10
I got a new one a while back. It is the Orion RGC2. 3.5mm like the one you seek.
It doesn't have a 3.5mm "headphone" style input. It only has an RJ11 style connection. Otherwise I'd use the remote gain from my XTR2500.1dz.
I just resoldered the pot. I thought it would be more difficult than it was given the proximity of pins. Still, resoldering shouldn't be the go-to answer for an item that I've owned less than six months. I tried calling Orion, and no one answered.

Thanks @1aespinoza and @Buck for your tips.

I haven't tested it yet, but I will soon.
Wound up not working. Looks like the copper came out of the PCB with the pins. I can't find any Orion replacements online. It's a simple enough circuit that I could make something on a breadboard, but that's a last resort. At this point my gain controller is fudged, so I'll keep monkeying with it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bobbytwonames

metalheadjoe

Registered User
10+ year member
Oct 21, 2007
407
222
ND
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #12
I have soldered jumpers in these cases. Follow the trace to the next pin an "splice" there.
I had to sand down to the copper trace and gob on enough solder to connect adjacent pins. It's ugly as sin, but I don't know how else i could have done it. Solder likes to stick to the iron. I even tried fluxing all points.

Any tips to make it easier if i have to do it again? It's been a decade since I had formal training.
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: Bobbytwonames

1aespinoza

Junior Member
May 22, 2013
957
249
Pharr, Texas
Any tips to make it easier if i have to do it again? It's been a decade since I had formal training.
Shoot, that turned out good. When soldering to a trace, I would add a "leg" from a resistor, laying accross the missing trace. I would touch up all other pins (do not add solder). Cold solder has a tendency of developing hairline cracks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: metalheadjoe

metalheadjoe

Registered User
10+ year member
Oct 21, 2007
407
222
ND
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #14
Shoot, that turned out good. When soldering to a trace, I would add a "leg" from a resistor, laying accross the missing trace. I would touch up all other pins (do not add solder). Cold solder has a tendency of developing hairline cracks.
All in all you think i did a decent job?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bobbytwonames

Popwarhomie

CarAudio.com Elite VIP
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Jan 22, 2010
9,413
1,838
FL
Do you have a picture of this knob? I have a few Orion friends and I can see if I can find a spare.
 

Popwarhomie

CarAudio.com Elite VIP
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Jan 22, 2010
9,413
1,838
FL
That would be awesome! Let me know their price.

Oh that's just a standard knob. I just gave one to a guy from the Soundqubed group looking for one. I don't think I have anymore but I'll check and let you know.


EDIT: All I have is the FSD knobs that don't have clipping lights left.

Crescendo sells replacement knobs. I would guess they are exactly the same but not 100% sure.
 
Last edited:

metalheadjoe

Registered User
10+ year member
Oct 21, 2007
407
222
ND
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #19
Oh that's just a standard knob. I just gave one to a guy from the Soundqubed group looking for one. I don't think I have anymore but I'll check and let you know.


EDIT: All I have is the FSD knobs that don't have clipping lights left.

Crescendo sells replacement knobs. I would guess they are exactly the same but not 100% sure.
Ordered. Damn you made that easy.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.


Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



Latest posts

Newest threads

Most posts - Past 30 days

Latest classifieds