Newbie System Setup questions & recommendations?

Well guys and girls,

I am new to this whole new world of CAR AUDIO, so please school me on the basics! Currently own a 95 Sentra GXE with stock sound system. Its time for it to go! So what compoants should I purchase to replace the stock system?

What I am looking for a car setup? I want SQ, I want great sound quality. However, seeing how I am a college student I am on a budget. I will be piecing this system together over time. I have $1200 up front budget. I want to swap out all interior speakers focusing on having better mids and highs in addition to new amp (4 channel) and the subs will have to wait. In addition new rear speakers to fill out the sound.

My question for all you experienced people, what equipment and manufacture should I purchase?

I have one more question, if I want to increase SPL, could I or should I have one sub for SQ and one for SPL?

I have or am reading just about any magazine I can get my hands on, but all of this information is just confusing (i.e 2 or 4 ohms [which is better?], bridging). Anyone's wise advice and or recommended reading material will be greatly apreciated.

Thank You again for your time.

First off go here http://www.bcae1.com/ itll learn you good on car audio and electricity in general.

First off get a good head unit. Im talking a nice mid level Alpine, Clarion, Eclipse etc. something with a nice 4v preout or higher. trust me youll be kicking yourself later if you skimp on the HU.

Id type more but adult swim came on.