New to upgrading mids/highs. Best brands for the $ that brick/mortar dealers sell?

Participant count
  • Participant list

Jakerrr
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
I'm new to upgrading mids/highs and I'm looking for the best brands for the money that brick/mortar dealers might sell.

I already have the sub stage covered (SA-15, zx1000.1) in my new car and it has a decent upgraded factory Infiniti stereo (Ralliart model as opposed to base 05 Lancer). I haven't put the sub in the car yet but I know pretty much how it sounds, I had it in my last car. It is really going to drown out these speakers and I do like to listen to music at high volume.

Why brick and mortar? Well... My family simply does not understand my interest in car audio. They know I'm buying a head unit and custom box and wiring kit and that I'm paying to get these installed along with my sub and amp. They do realize that this is something I enjoy but to them this is a huge expense for something I don't need and they can't understand why anyone would spend over a couple hundred dollars on a sound system. I work and go to college but I only lived on campus freshman year and I now live at home. I bought both my sub and amp on this site years ago. Parents actually bought the custom box this time around as a birthday present but if they find out that I buy any more stuff for my car trust me I will never hear the end of it. I'm going to see how my current system will sound and get some mileage out of the stock speakers but I am certain that I will be upgrading the speakers and getting an amp for them.