Need help tuning IDMax 12D4V3

Bdozers

Hi guys,

I picked up a used IDMax 12 over the weekend to replace my powered infinity basslink 10 because the thing was not cutting it. I just finished installing it with my friend's borrowed HiFonics Zeus 1200w amp that puts out ~400w at 4ohms.

This thing is a bit loud.. like boomy loud. I picked up the box from the seller as well which was a dual chambered setup. Originally I was gonna chop off the other half and just recarpet but after some reading a new box with a custom cubic setup might be the better choice. I'm new to all this (in practice) so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'm hoping to get bass that I can feel in my back versus in my chest (and head... and ears... and everywhere) for a lack of better explanation. Right now it'll feel uncomfortable listening to it turned up for any extended period of time..

so what are you expecting/goals.... if its too loud, tweek the gain down.....or adjust yer lpf lower and give it more power so you feel that deepness .... i dunno just my suggestion (im buzzed)... play around with it (box position, lpf, power)....its trial and error till ya find what ya like, welcome to car audio...every vehicle, equipment, power, ect. is different (variables) just gotta experiment.... just my 2 cents

1. Youre running it at 2 ohms not 42. What size is the box?

3. That idmax deserves better than hifonics
Be more specific about this "dual chambered box" you're currently using... lol

Sorry KCR... wrong person quoted