My Tentative Setup – I’d Like Some Input

idiot
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
I’m new here, and I’m new to car audio in general. Thus, I have would appreciate any suggestions regarding my proposed setup; if you’d recommend a better product at a similar price as the one I’ve listed, I would be grateful. Oh, and I would like an SQL setup, with more focus on the SQ.

Head Unit: Pioneer DEH-P7500MP - $229.00

(I had originally looked at the JVC KD-SH9700, but a few people told me that the Pioneer was a far better choice… I still don’t quite see it.)

Front Components: Kenwood eXcelon KFC-Xr61P - $153.00

(No amp for these and the rears. I’d planned to power them off the HU.)

Rear Speakers: Kenwood eXcelon KFC-Xr601 - $80.01

Sub: Elemental Designs e8A.44 - $145.00

(I realize that my setup includes only one 8” sub. That is because I don’t have room for a mounting depth beyond about 4.5” underneath my passenger seat. You see, I want this to take up no usable space at all. I want my trunk free, I want my back seats able to be sat in. This install is about stealth, and that has forced me to go with a smaller sub. I’ll be giving it 0.3 – 0.4 cubic feet in a sealed enclosure.)

Sub amp: Rockford Fosgate Power 351M - $135.00

Sound dampening material: Elemental Designs eDead - $70.00 + $32.00 = $102.00

(It sounds like the all the layers but the very last one should be done with V2, and the last should be done with V1. I’m not quite certain of this, and would appreciate either some input on the installation of this material, or a nudge toward a better product, similarly priced.)

Sounds like you got yourself a pretty nice system. I can appreciate the stealth idea. Have you ever tried or heard anything other then the Kenwoods for a front stage?