Is car toys right? Or just trying to sell me stuff???

95lincdog

Senior VIP Member
I have 2 xm-zr1850 sony xplod amps. 1000w peak each. Car toys said since they have 2 30a fuses each, that each amp needs a 4 gauge power wire from a d-block with atleast a 2 gauge to the battery. Right now a have a 4 gauge into 2 8 gauges for power. Is that fine or do I need what they are saying?

Definitely don't skimp on wiring. People pay hundreds for subs and amps no problem, then cheap out on wire and get the bare minimum. i don't get it..

Not trying to cheap out. I stated in a previous thread that's what I was going to have and ppl said it was fine. I'm a noob and only heard of watts determining power wire size, not the fuse amperage numbers. Really I'm just trying to track down why my bass is lowering itself. Like if it's a voltage drop or if my amps are going out. Is there a way to test an amp with a simple volt meter? A couple days ago I didn't know my positive battery cable was loose and I had my music loud. Some weird things happened withe the speaker sounds. Do u think that might have burnt my amps?

Thats 1200wrms out of those Sony amps based on fuse size. No way they are 100% efficient. Id be willing to be gains are set incorrectly. Couple that with mediocre quality amps and 8awg wire. You have a recipe for disaster.

What car are these amps in? How big is your alt? Have you done the big 3 upgrades? Any battery upgrades? Any alt upgrades? Where are the amps grounded?

Far to many possibilities for us to give you sound advice without knowing the specifics.