Is $500 to much for a box for 2 W3's?

porksoda
10+ year member

Dakota GOD!!!
nm
Well i am wanting to get a box made but the audio shop in my town is the only one around. The next closest audio shop that actually knows what they are doing is 100 miles away.

The way i want to set my box up is like this:

023.jpg

But i have 2 new JL audio 12w3 v2's and i havent decided on my amp. But that how i want it but in gray and they are saying $500 for a box like that. Am i getting ripped off or is that how much all boxes cost. PS this shop i am talking about is a Big JL Audio dealer. I dunno if that changes anything.

I went to a different shop in my town and they said about $200 for a box like that but he says he used a computer program to make it. Is that ok if they use a computer program?

Also I was thinking about making my own box but i have never built a box before. I have read you have to have the right air space and stuff like but i dont know how to figure that our.

Thanks alot guys!

lol. 500 for a box? i know shops that charge 500 for full blow throughs, 500 for a box is way to much. go with the 200, or try it yourself.

Also I was thinking about making my own box but i have never built a box before. I have read you have to have the right air space and stuff like but i dont know how to figure that our.
It's hard to tell from the picture, but is the box in question just a regular box made from MDF, or is it custom-fit to the car with fiberglass? If it's just a plain box made from MDF, I would say give it a try yourself. Figuring the volume is easy and exact with MDF boxes.

You didn't mention if you wanted sealed or ported. Sealed is easier, of course.

It's hard to tell from the picture, but is the box in question just a regular box made from MDF, or is it custom-fit to the car with fiberglass? If it's just a plain box made from MDF, I would say give it a try yourself. Figuring the volume is easy and exact with MDF boxes.