Installing new speaker wire

Participant count
  • Participant list

Warpshift
10+ year member

So, I'm new to CarAudio.com, but not new to maintaining and fixing vehicles on my own.

I'm curious as to what type of speaker wire I should use. I have a 1999 Nissan Frontier King Cab and I bought it sans stereo. After prying open the doors I also discovered there were no speakers either. I don't want to spend a ton of money on wiring, but I also don't want crap.

My ending goal in case anyone was wondering is to run a small system. I'm thinking a set of components for my doors (been leaning towards the JBL GTO series, Orion, or Cadence), a small 10" sub (custom mounted where one of the jump seats is currently located), and a Double Din head unit. Possibly a 4-channel amp????

Any suggestions on what brand/gauge wire would be helpful. Also some input on speaker and amp choices would be great as well.

I'm looking to spend no more than $1000. I would love to do more, but school costs ****.

Last edited by a moderator:
$1000

---------- Post added at 07:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:02 PM ----------

A budget would certainly help to give recommendations.
$1000

Granted I would like to keep it under that.

monoprice.com
least expensive wire for every use. Gauge depends on power. 14g would be fine for a small stereo
Ideally the system would have I think 800w if not a little more. However I really like watching movies and have thought about what would sound good for a mini-mobile theater...playing DVDs. Also having the ability to plug my phone in to watch ripped blu-rays would be great too.

Ideally the system would have I think 800w if not a little more. However I really like watching movies and have thought about what would sound good for a mini-mobile theater...playing DVDs. Also having the ability to plug my phone in to watch ripped blu-rays would be great too.