HO Alt vs Dual OEM alt setup

sbarber82
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
I am one of the people that have been ripped off by Tenney Alternators and am in the market for a new alt. I am thinking of going with a setup DC offers that uses my stock alt and one of their OEM 185 amp alternators. This setup will produce 260-270 amps at idle, and over 320 amps of max output.

Or I can go with a single 340 amp HO alt.

What are the advantages/disadvantages of going with a dual setup?

What would you go with?

In my experience I have never had a reliable "high output alt" they work great for 6 months to a year then they crap out and leave you vehicle out of service until u either order a replacement or go back with a stock alt. what has worked well for me is running multiple oem alts . For 1 having 2 alts gives u insurance against being stranded from a single alt failure. Only real drawback is the bracket you have to fab or buy after market. I am a welder/fabricator so the bracket is no prob for me to make. the best setup I have ever come accross for the money is building a bracket that will accept an alt off of a 398 catapiller 12 cylinder diesel moter. They are rated at 220 amps at 2400 rpm so when u run them at the higher rpm that gas moters run at the put out an easy 350-400 amps. Now I work in the oil field so it's easy to come across these alts for me but it shows you what can be done with a lil forthought.

If you want say 200-250 amps you can run a duel set up and isolate the charging system where the big alt off say a caddie 200-240 amps charges the amp batteries and the oem handles the rest. This IMHO is ideal because u can run your amp batts dead and still start your car without isolators (which I have never had good luck with)

So a duel setup is a harder install but more reliable.