Focal to JL or Alpine Amp?

mdrums

Hi, 1st post here and I am a car audio newbie. I have a new Mini Cooper that I had a system installed in.

Stock Head Unit

Focal FP4.75 Amp

Hertz High Energy Speakers

JL 10w3 Sub in sealed box

Alpine Imprint Processor

My Focal FP4.75 is shutting off after 20 or so minutes of high volume use. It is getting very hot and I can not get more air to it. So the car audio place that did the install said they would take it back and give me a deal on either a Alpine PDX 4.150 or JL HD600. They said either of these amps will work great and run a lot cooler under the sub floor in the rear of the car.

Being new at this...what is everyones opinion between the Alpine or JL amp? I like a warmer sounding amp. THANKS!

My honest opinion is check the grounds..
OK...but I am confused by this. I see you are in Tampa...I had the install done at BLVD Customs over in Clearwater/St. Pete. They seem to be a top shop and know what they are doing.

The system is quiet, no hum or buzz, basically sounds really good except it will cut off in 20 or so minute at extreme volume and the Focal amp get to hot to touch.

do you have a small fan or anything in there? get something to circulate airflow or any will get hot especially in the florida heat.. hell my amps are pretty warm to touch just chilling car off..

I'd recommend the JL, but go have a listen to them on the soundboard for yourself. The older full range Alpine PDX amplifiers had noise issues and sounded funny. I could never quite put my finger on what it is about them, but they just didn't sound right. I was even able to pick the PDX out of a selection of amplifiers with my back turned to the soundboard with a sales associate doing the selecting, yet I couldn't tell the difference between a JL and the Arc Audio that they had.

Then again, the OP may like the Alpine PDX.