Feels like Dejavu!

trimegatron
10+ year member

Hey guys, checking in! I guess I'm a newb. But, I've got 1400 posts on bimmerforums.com - it looks like they use the same engine to power the site so it feels like I've been here before. And, yes I will search before asking questions.

My car audio setup is more for moderate volumes but falls a little flat when played excessively. I don't want to way down the M3 (500HP tends to compensate for those extra pounds though)!

Here is my setup:

Two year old Alpine higher end Unit: Paid ~1000 for it (has the touch slider to change stations - ssucks!) It has already broke, and to navigate thru the menu's is BS.

JL ZR 5 1/4s in the kicks

JL stealth boxs in the rear deck 8" x 2

JL 600watt 4 ohm mono block amp

50x4 @ 4 ohms Orion amp - - soon to be replaced by a higher powered boston.

So, I'll get to it.

I want to build pods to attach to my doors (e36 M3). I'm looking to save a little money and buy one of the JL XR series 6.5s. The ZR series that I already own have a very true sound without adding their own properties + the tweeter isn't over active. They remind me of some high end Boston seperates I've owned.

Can I add a lower end speaker to handle lower frequencies in the front - and possibly 1)not use the tweeter or 2) turn down the gain on the tweeter?

I only mention using another JL set as I want them to compliment my current set. If you can recommend something cost effective I'm all ears. Especially if it is a

6.5" mid-base

These will be used in conjunction with the new sub amp and 10 or 12 I'm going to mount in an enclosure attached to my rear deck (in between my stealth boxes)

In the past I've had: Boston seperates, MB Quartz seperates, Kenwood, Infiniti Kappa & Reference seperates, Pioneer (poles), JBLs and there has to have been more over the years but that's all I can think of.

Whew that was long.....//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif Thanks!