Easy Wiring Question!!

Participant count
  • Participant list

CodyHendo
10+ year member

So i am a noob to the whole mids and highs game, putting them on an amp and what not, and had a problem my first try before i could even hook everything up.

I bought an aq200.2, 4 6.5pwxs (8 ohm), and 4 ft1 tweets (4 ohm), with the crossovers. (i figured i would go all out for my next build and start with a front stage that can keep up.) so i had planned on running all four of each speaker onto one channel each of the 200.2 (all ft1s on one channel and all pwxs on the other), but was later informed that since i only have one set of filters on the 200.2, that wouldnt be in my best interest, and would sound like crap. After some explanation, it all made sense to me.

To fix the problem, here is what i did. I went ahead and bought 4 pwx 8s, and an aq120.4.

Now i plan to run the four tweets on two channels of the 120.4, and the 6.5s on the other two channels, so they now each have their own set of filters. Then i will run two of the 8s on each channel of the 200.2.

Heres where you experts come in for the easy questions... I will not need the crossovers for the tweets then correct? because i have a whole set of filters specifically for each type of speaker? also how would i run rcas for this setup? should i be looking at equalizers too? or? Any help with this would be extremely appreciated.

Also, with this setup i will be running sky high 12 gauge, would there be any difference if i were to use cca instead of ofc? realistically...

Where are you mounting the 4 tweeters? Where are you mounting the 4 6.5" mids?

If you want to amp your tweets and mids separately then amp them ALL separately. Do not wire any speakers in parallel - especially front and rear sides - you will not be able to adjust the rear fill and will likely sound crappy.

Either: don't wire rears at all and just wire the front doors with one speaker per channel on the amp