Dual subs... help?

Bigdaddyjk

hey guys heres the deal. i am a car audio novice. i just recently aquired a 2000 dodge dakota and would like to add some subs to it. i need you guys to tell me what the best way of going about this is.

i have seen some dual bass enclosures that will fit under the rear cab seat.

( 2 - 10")

http://cgi.ebay.com/MTX-THUNDERFORM-DODGE-DAKOTA-10-Subs-97-03-LIKE-NEW_W0QQitemZ9711144377QQcategoryZ32823QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem.

this seems the most logical way of acomplishing my task so i was wondering if u could tell me what kind and how powerfull should my amps be.

now, the truck already has some aftermarket stuff in it.

it has a 300 watt amplifier under one of the rear cab seats and the reciever provides 200 watts. it has some sony speakers (they are red coaxial) and thats about as much as i know...

i dont want to spend too to much money cause im broke but if you could just generally tell me what a decent set up will be and how to acomplish it, i would be very happy:p Thanks in advance!!!

John K

o well it said 200 watts on it...

look, i just need to know what i will need for that MTX Thunderform subwoofer enclosure... (which amps, crossovers...)

also, this is just an enclosure not a box - will the sound be bad because its not in a box??

i got a thunderform in my 2003 dakota. it'll give decent bass in the cab, but not very SPL loud... i can get it bumping enough to shake the rearview mirror.

do you know what drivers are in the thunderform? MTX provided either thunder 6000s or 4500s. the 4500s are rated at 225 wrms. i've seen these powered by as little as 200w, i had a mtx 801d shoot 400w into them. 300watts out of the pioneer will suit these fine.

if all you have is the empty thunderform, any 10 inch driver with a mounting depth of less than 4.65 inches shoulld fit, provided the magnet diameter isn't huge. i fit adire koda 10s into mine with a little bit of cutting.