Door Pod Progress - lots of pictures

ShakinSupra
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
I've finally got the bondo and paint done on my door pods for my Kappa components. The speakers aren't hooked up yet, I need to get some screws tomorrow before I can get the other door together, but here are a few of the install pics so far:

The mold for the back side of the enclosure, molded to the door.

No1.jpg

The back pieces.

No2.jpg

The mold for the front pieces with one layer of fiberglass.

No3.jpg

After bondo and paint.

No4.jpg

Attached to the door.

No5.jpg

In the door.

No6.jpg

With the door shut.

No7.jpg

It was a whole lot of work, I really like how it turned out, although people may kick them getting in and out of my car... And I now really have the heaviest doors ever, as if Supra doors aren't heavy enough stock, that's something I didn't consider before I started.

Sweet job! I've got zero experience glassing, but I'm familiar with the process. I can't figure out what you based those mdf rings on... the molds of the bottom?

Looks nice //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif I like it.

- Steve

Excellent job.. I wanna learn how to fiberglass //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/coolflash.gif.4f9740e1268764cfe452b9259e375e3b.gif

Thanks, originally there was a pocket that ran along the bottom of the door that I never put anything into, and that is the base for the front piece, I just covered up the pocket. The MDF ring is based on that. Here is a pic of a stock Supra door (not mine) so you can see what it was replacing.

stockdoor.jpg

Now I just need some better components...

I’m jealous of your skill. Those look great. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif