Coolant leaking

nateberrier
10+ year member

Douche, Ohio
I have coolant leaking from the front of my Chevette. The thermostat, radiator, and hoses have been replaces. The leak seems to be coming from the front of the engine block. It only seems to leak when the car is running and drips pretty fast. My diagnosis is the water pump but I wanted to see if anyone else thought differently. Possibly a freeze plug or head gasket? I dont think so for either but Im no engine mechanic either.

I got a pump because my first thought was the water pump, I really havent had time to look at it in the daylight so i havent been able to check the oil, mostly i was hoping it wasnt a freeze plug and wanted another opinion.

Where are freeze plugs typically located? I know the engine usually needs pulled to replace them. I just got off my ass and checked the oil, I dont see any coolant or water in the oil on the dipstick. Im doing a change tomorrow so Ill know that for sure. It doesnt smoke when its running and actually runs well at this point, Being that it seems to come from the front my guess is the water pump but there is a cover so i cant see the pump at all. I get the windshield tomorrow and i guess thats when ill be doing the pump. It sat for about three years without a radiator and a small amount of coolant/water in the block, has a new thermostat, radiator and hoses.

Its a G5. What motor is it. And is the leak on the left or right side. SO say you are facing your car. motor in front of you. leak on the left or right. How many miles do you have on it. Anf reeze plugs lol. Id go with water pump first or INTAKE gaskets first. Or even that intake plenuim gasket if its the 3.9.