Car Rumbling Audio

nightwookie

I am pretty much a new comer to this field. Last week, I was sitting at a red light, and my car started shaking. I finally realized it was the car behind me audio system. I could barely hear music, but it was putting out audio that was causing my car to feel like it was jumping around and vibrating! What kind of equipment would it take to be able to have that kind of sound? Does it take thousands? Is it amp, speakers, or what. I am an amateur, just curious.

To be done properly, one must invest a a couple of thousand on just electrical upgrades, ie; high output altenator, a battery bank some can have a dozen or more batteries. Then another couple of thousand on a high grade amp for your subs. Then another couple of thousand for subs. Then you have to get an amp for your mids and highs, after about a thousand for those speakers. So around 6 to 10 thousand dollars. I have a fairly simple system in my car, soon to be an 18 inch sub-650, sub amp retails for 780, a small class d amp for my kids and highs-110, kids and high speakers I got good deals on, total of 60. About 450 in batteries for a total of around 1500, not including my head unit which was 240. This is probably my 40th variation in the past 10 years. It is an exspensive addiction, I mean hobby. The upgrade bug usually bites every 6 months or so, once your ears get use to what ever your are currently running, you will start asking yourself, what can I really fit in the real estate that I have. Some even rmove seats and cut sheet metal in their vehicle to make the next unicorn sub/s fit in, or actually build the enclosure in the trunk to make sure there is enough room for proper displacement capability. You can look at the bottom of my post to see what all I have put myself through to get to where I am now.

Last edited by a moderator: