Capacitor/amp how to questions

Participant count
  • Participant list

lipski24.ml
10+ year member

Wisconsin
Alright my first question about capacitors!

1) What is a farad?

2) Do you want more farads?

3) what is the cheapest but yet reliable capacitor to buy??

4) I don't have any wires to the capacitor, and do I just use the amplifier install kit wires?

I have a scosche 500k micro farad capacitor without the wires. Is it a decent capacitor? Can I use the amp kit wires for it?

5) How do I wire the dang thing correctly?

I'm a capacitor and wiring noob so lots of help needed!

I am going to be running a Kenwood kfc3013ps off a Audiopipe Apsm1300. So I kind of figured it would help. But do you think I should do the big three just for good measure? Or is that a bad thing?

I am going to be running a Kenwood kfc3013ps off a Audiopipe Apsm1300. So I kind of figured it would help. But do you think I should do the big three just for good measure? Or is that a bad thing?
Doing the big three should be enough for that amp, depending on the size of your stock alternator. Maybe consider getting an AGM battery for under the hood if you think you need a little bit better electrical to back it.

And standard capacitors don't have enough capacitance (storage) to be able to supply your amplifier for more than a few milliseconds, at which point its charge is gone and it just puts more of a load on your vehicle's electrical system.

I have no idea the Alternator size. It's a 99 Chevy Blazer ls. So if that helps any! I will do the big three then! AGM battery? Sorry, i am new to all this. I'm constantly learning new stuff on here though! Ha!

Alright my first question about capacitors!1) What is a farad?

2) Do you want more farads?

3) what is the cheapest but yet reliable capacitor to buy??

4) I don't have any wires to the capacitor, and do I just use the amplifier install kit wires?