Best Thin Mount subs or5-1/4" mount depth

Participant count
  • Participant list

rick5150

Not 100% on if this is where to post as its my first time here but....

I have a 2003 F350 crew cab with the rear bench seat the simple cheaper box I could buy has a mount depth of 5-1/4"

I listen to mostly hip hop but also classic rock, some dubstep, country...etc

Wondering whats the best option for slim subs or one with 5-1/4" mount depth or less. I was considering getting tone JL TW5v2 with a sealed box but possibly ported (need to talk to the guy get a feel if he's matching it correctly) Ive never had a ported box.

I've owned some varying systems such as a hummer with 2 13"w7's and 2 jl1000's powering them as well as my old truck with two 10"cvx's with only 350rms to each (ext cab)....really looking for something inbetween or similar to the cvx's I'd like to stay with 10's or bigger if possible.

Thx

The Sundown SD-2 10" only requires 4.75" of mounting depth and .5cf sealed or 1.0cf ported. The SD-2 12" only requires the 5.25" of mounting depth and 1.0cf sealed or 2.0cf ported. Either of these will work for you and if you like the JL's then I know for a fact that their 6W3v3 6inch subs get down very nicely and they only require 4.25" of mounting depth. I just put two in a .47cf box tuned to like 32hz or so in my wife's suv and they are VERY nice.....I believe I even did a small review here on them.

The SD-2 12" looks like a great price point as well as i can get a sealed box for $100 that fits in my truck with 1.04cf...still sorta researching that sub...

any reccomendations on a amp?

I'd like to put the full 500rms to it at 4ohms. thinking the old JL audio 500/1v2 if i could find one